Possessed To Release New Album in 2018

Photo by Svartheim

Possessed, the legendary metal band widely credited for coining the term “death metal” and being the first in the genre, has signed to Nuclear Blast Records and has announced that they are releasing a new album in 2018, their first album in 32 years. The band has been reunited with original vocalist Jeff Becerra, but has not released brand new material. The band has been writing new material as early as 2012, but it’s only now that they’ve confirmed an album. Their last album, “Beyond the Gates,” was released in 1986.

Currently, Jeff Becerra is the only original member in the Possessed line-up. Other members of the band include guitarists Daniel Gonzalez (Gruesome) and Claudeous Creamer (From Hell), drummer Emilio Marquez (Asesino, ex-Brujeria), and bassist Robert Cardenas.

The band’s debut album “Seven Churches” is considered to be a highly-influential one in death metal. It was released in October 16, 1985 and named after the 1973 horror film of the same name.


Other death metal greats have paid tribute to this album. Cannibal Corpse’s cover of “The Exorcist” and Vader’s cover of “Death Metal” are only a few of them. Listen to them below:

☛ The PULPnut Gallery ☚

where people share their guts out and go nuts (sometimes)