The National Share New Single and Details of New Album

Alternative rock band The National have just released the first single from their upcoming album, “The System Only Dreams in Total Darkness.” With tinkering synths, swelling horns, a stuttering bass, and a wailing electric guitar, the song bares a more colorful, pop-oriented sound compared to the songs on the band’s last record, the more analog-sounding “Trouble Will Find Me.” Listen to the single below:

“The System Only Dreams In Total Darkness” is off the band’s upcoming album, “Sleep Well Beast.” Aaron Dessner, the band’s guitarist and main songwriter, also produced the whole album with the help of his co-band members, guitarist Bryce Dessner and vocalist Matt Berninger. Check out the album’s cover art and tracklisting below:

Sleep Well Beast Tracklist:

01. Nobody Else Will Be There
02. Day I Die
03. Walk It Back
04. The System Only Dreams in Total Darkness
05. Born to Beg
06. Turtleneck
07. Empire Line
08. I’ll Still Destroy You
09. Guilty Party
10. Carin at the Liquor Store
11. Dark Side of the Gym
12. Sleep Well Beast

“Sleep Well Beast” comes out September 8 through 4AD. 

Source: Consequence of Sound

☛ The PULPnut Gallery ☚

where people share their guts out and go nuts (sometimes)